The BiG's exhibition 'The Schauenburg collection – a uniquely valuable collection of maps'

The Schauenburg collection, which has been owned by the Swiss Confederation since 1881, is the focus of a new exhibition at the Library Am Guisanplatz.

Johann Anton Herbort, 'Plan of Bern with fortification project', 1730, Scale 1:3900, 163 x 134 cm, The Schauenburg collection 39 [Image detail]
Johann Anton Herbort, 'Plan of Bern with fortification project', 1730, Scale 1:3900, 163 x 134 cm, The Schauenburg collection 39 [Image detail]

From Thursday, 09 May 2019, 5:00pm
To Friday, 28 February 2020, 4:30pm

Papiermühlestrasse 21a 3014 Bern
Fair, exhibition

The Schauenburg collection contains 68 hand-drawn maps and plans from the 17th and 18th centuries. They show terrains, fortresses, ground plans and the Mittelland, which was under Bernese rule. In 1798, the maps were stolen from Bern by the Alsatian general Alexis Balthasar Henri Antoine von Schauenburg (1748-1831). They were later returned to the Swiss Confederation in 1881, and today are kept in the State Archives of Bern. The BiG's current exhibition presents the history of this unique collection, and shows a selection of these maps in their original size.

The maps and their authors

Many of the maps were authored by military engineers. The exhibition contains works by the following cartographers: Valentin Friderich (died around 1640), Hans Conrad Gyger (1599-1674), Samuel Bodmer (1652-1724), Johann Adam Riediger (1680-1756) and Johann Anton Herbort (1702-1757).

Public tours

Five public guided tours of the Schauenburg collection will take place in the Bern State Archives over the course of the exhibition's run. Interested visitors can register online at bibliothek@gs-vbs.admin.ch up to one week before the tour date. Guided tours are free of charge; groups are limited to 20 people. The meeting point is in front of the State Archives at Falkenplatz 4, 3001 Bern.

Thursday, 16 May 2019, 5pm – 5.45pm
Thursday, 22 August 2019, 5pm – 5.45pm
Wednesday, 16 October 2019, 12.30pm – 1.15pm
Tuesday, 10 December 2019, 12.30pm – 1.15pm
Tuesday, 18 February 2020, 12.30pm – 1.15pm

 

Library Am Guisanplatz Information and Documentation Services
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 50 95

Contact form


Print contact

print preview

Exposition à la BiG « La collection Schauenburg : un fonds de cartes précieux »

La nouvelle exposition à la Bibliothèque Am Guisanplatz présente l’histoire de la collection Schauenburg, détenue par la Confédération depuis 1881.

Johann Anton Herbort, « Plan de Berne avec projet de fortification », 1730, carte à l'échelle de 1:3900, 163 x 134 cm, Collection Schauenburg 39 [Détail]
Johann Anton Herbort, « Plan de Berne avec projet de fortification », 1730, carte à l'échelle de 1:3900, 163 x 134 cm, Collection Schauenburg 39 [Détail]

Du jeudi 09 mai 2019, 17:00
au vendredi 28 février 2020, 16:30

Papiermühlestrasse 21a 3014 Bern
Foire, salon, exposition

La collection Schauenburg est un fonds de 68 cartes et plans thématiques des 17e et 18e siècles, conçus à la main et représentant des images topographiques, des forteresses, des plans de surface ainsi que le Plateau, le territoire souverain de l’autorité bernoise. En 1798, le général alsacien Alexis Balthasar Henri Antoine de Schauenburg (1748 1831) s’en était emparé à Berne. La Confédération suisse a pu les récupérer et les détient en propriété depuis 1881. Aujourd’hui, ces œuvres sont conservés aux Archives de l’État de Berne. L’exposition actuelle présente l’histoire de cette collection unique avec une sélection de cartes au format original.

Les cartes et leurs auteurs

Une grande partie des cartes a été conçue par des ingénieurs militaires. L’exposition montrera des exemplaires des auteurs suivants : Valentin Friderich (décédé en 1640), Hans Conrad Gyger (1599-1674), Samuel Bodmer (1652-1724), Johann Adam Riediger (1680-1756) et Johann Anton Herbort (1702-1757).

Visites guidées

Pendant la durée de l’exposition, cinq visites guidées sont proposées au public dans les Archives de l’État de Berne. Les personnes intéressées peuvent s’y inscrire électroniquement jusqu’à une semaine avant la date souhaitée en écrivant un courriel à l’adresse bibliothek@gs-vbs.admin.ch. Ces visites sont gratuites et limitées à 20 personnes par groupe. Le lieu de rendez-vous se trouve devant les Archives de l’État, Falkenplatz 4, 3001 Berne.

Jeudi 16 mai 2019                 17h00-17h45
Jeudi 22 août 2019               17h00-17h45
Mercredi 16 octobre 2019   12h30-13h15
Mardi 10 décembre 2019    12h30-13h15
Mardi 18 février 2020          12h30-13h15

 

Bibliothèque Am Guisanplatz Services d’information et de documentation
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 464 50 95

Formulaire de contact