print preview

Exhibition ‘Two Gesslers - Two Worlds 1880-2012 Between Vision and Reality’

The exhibition introduces and compares two personalities: Dr. E. A. Gessler, father and weapons expert, and his son, the painter J. A. Gessler, known as Ge Gessler, in the context of an eventful era, 1880-2012.

Between Two Worlds – Future Vision by Ge Gessler, 1972
Between Two Worlds – Future Vision by Ge Gessler, 1972

From Thursday, 05 April 2018, 6:00pm
To Wednesday, 06 March 2019, 4:30pm

Library Am Guisanplatz, Papiermühlestrasse 21A, Bern
Fair, exhibition

 

Two Gesslers 1880–2012 Waffenkundler und Kunstmaler

The father, Dr. Eduard Achilles Gessler, 1880-1947, a historian, was a renowned weapons expert, scientist and author. He was the curator of the Swiss National Museum in Zurich for 35 years and hence from its beginnings. Through his in-depth knowledge of medieval weapons and his academic publications he made a significant contribution to developing the military collection and professionalising the young institution.

His son, Jörg Achilles Gessler (1924-2012), whose artist’s name was George or GeGe, was a set designer and later freelance painter. He leaves behind an extensive and diverse collection of works. His structured form and radiant colours ground from pigments have created a life’s work full of beauty and force.     

Two Gesslers – Two Worlds

Two remarkable personalities whose biographies together span more than one hundred years, are set against and in front of each other in their different environments.

The workplace of E. A. Gessler, the curator, and the restoration workshop were a source of inspiration for young Ge Gessler, who grew up in Zurich and often accompanied his father to the Swiss National Museum. It was here that the young man, who was later to become a painter, discovered his love of art, creating his own colours from pigments well into old age.

The two resembled each other not only in the meticulousness of their work but also, surprisingly, in their creative expression in verses, postcards and sketches, which Ge Gessler only discovered for himself many years after his father’s death.

Father and son loved and admired each other. However, caught between a love of weapons and the harm they could inflict, the two became estranged: given the events of the day, the young artist could not share his father’s historical or technical fascination for weapons. The horror they cause was reflected in Ge Ge’s paintings through the expression of pain and distress. The artist strived to make a clear statement through his images: compassion was the prevalent message of his expressive works.

Between Vision and Reality

The aim of the exhibition is to present a real-life story and to encourage reflection. The world of the humanistic but rather retrogressive weapons expert is placed face-to-face with the world of the emerging painter and his vibrant colours and sombre vision of the future. Two generations in a turbulent era, moving in two worlds. Two worlds that are reflected in pictures. A visit to the exhibition provides an insight into the life and work of the Gesslers, and into the conceptual world of father and son. It reminds the public in a personal way of the far-reaching work of the profound weapons expert, and explores the enthusiastic and colourful work of the painter.  

 

Contact
www.gegessler.ch

http://gege.arpa-docs.ch

www.gege-atelier.ch

GeGessler Society

For the preservation of GeGe’s life’s work
Lanzenstrasse 10b, 8913 Ottenbach ZH
Telephone 044 761 83 80
E-mail: gegessler@gmx.ch

Picture hiring and sales
Studio visits, exhibitions, society membership
You are warmly invited, please contact us

 

Library Am Guisanplatz Information and Documentation Services
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 50 95

Contact form

print preview

Exposition « Deux Gessler, deux univers : 1880-2012, entre vision et réalité »

L’exposition confronte deux personnalités à travers une époque mouvementée (1880-2012) : le père, Edouard Gessler, docteur en philosophie, historien, conservateur de musée et le fils, Georg Gessler, surnommé Ge ou GeGe, artiste peintre.

Entre deux mondes, vision d’avenir de Ge Gessler, 1972, extrait.
Entre deux mondes, vision d’avenir de Ge Gessler, 1972

Du jeudi 05 avril 2018, 18:00
au mercredi 06 mars 2019, 16:30

Bibliothèque Am Guisanplatz, Papiermühlestrasse 21A, Berne
Foire, salon, exposition

 

1880–2012, deux Gessler : un historien, un artiste peintre
Le père, Eduard Achilles Gessler, 1880-1947, docteur en philosophie, historien, auteur, expert en armes renommé, a été conservateur pendant 35 ans au Musée national suisse à Zurich alors en pleine constitution. Ses connaissances approfondies des armes au Moyen Âge et ses publications ont largement contribué à consolider les collections du musée en arts et antiquités militaires (ou militaria) et à professionnaliser l’institution.

Son fils Jörg Achilles Gessler, 1924-2012, a choisi comme nom d’artiste Georg Gessler, dit GeGe. Décorateur de théâtre avant de se consacrer entièrement à son art, il laisse une œuvre foisonnante et singulière, par sa recherche des formes et des structures, par ses couleurs lumineuses qu’il fabriquait lui-même à base de pigments. Il a dédié sa vie à l’art et consacré son énergie à la recherche de la beauté.

Deux Gessler, deux univers
Ces deux personnalités complexes, qui ont traversé à elles deux plus d’un siècle d’histoire, éclairent chacune la trajectoire et le monde de l’autre.

L’atelier de restauration du musée, notamment, a été une source d’inspiration pour le jeune Gessler qui a grandi à Zurich et qui accompagnait souvent son père sur son lieu de travail. Il semble y avoir forgé son amour pour l’art à travers les métiers d’artisanat et de création qui s’y pratiquaient. D’ailleurs, jusqu’à un grand âge, il a toujours fabriqué lui-même ses couleurs à base de pigments.

Ces deux hommes avaient pour points communs une minutie, une rigueur dans le travail ainsi qu’une expression artistique dont le fils prendra conscience bien après le décès de son père, en découvrant les vers, les cartes postales et les croquis laissés par ce dernier.

Tous deux éprouvaient affection et respect l’un pour l’autre, mais ils s’étaient éloignés, notamment à cause de l’intérêt d’Eduard pour les armes, qui mettait Ge mal à l’aise. Dans le contexte de son époque, le jeune artiste ne pouvait tolérer aucune fascination dans ce domaine, pas même historique ni technique. Dans ses tableaux, il a justement cherché des formes d’expression pour représenter la guerre, entre terreur et détresse d’une part et compassion de l’autre.

Entre vision et réalité
L’exposition présente cette tension en la replaçant dans le contexte historique de chacun des deux Gessler. À l’expert en armement, empreint de culture humaniste et plutôt tourné vers le passé, s’oppose l’artiste, avec ses couleurs qui s’entrechoquent et ses visions plus sombres de l’avenir. Ces deux générations évoluent dans deux univers différents, y compris dans la représentation visuelle, et traversent une époque mouvementée. En parcourant l’exposition, le visiteur peut entrer dans la vie, les réalisations et les réflexions du père comme du fils, entre les activités étendues du grand connaisseur des armes et l’œuvre engagée et colorée du peintre.

 

Kontakt

www.gegessler.ch

http://gege.arpa-docs.ch

www.gege-atelier.ch

GeGessler Verein
(Association GeGessler pour préserver l’œuvre de Georg Gessler)
Lanzenstrasse 10b, 8913 Ottenbach ZH
044 761 83 80
gegessler@gmx.ch

Location et vente de tableaux
Visite de l’atelier, expositions, affiliation
Bienvenue ! N’hésitez pas à prendre contact !

 

Bibliothèque Am Guisanplatz Services d’information et de documentation
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 464 50 95

Formulaire de contact