print preview

Dr. Georg Heberlein’s collection of autographs

Dr. Georg Heberlein’s collection of autographs brings you face to face with five centuries of world history and its chief characters. Personalities from Charles the Bold to Ronald Reagan speak to you through their handwriting and intimate testimonies.

On 1 May 1995, the daughters of Georg Heberlein handed over his collection of about 1,400 autographs to the former President of the Confederation Kaspar Villiger for the previous Federal military library and present Library Am Guisanplatz. They then expressed their wish that these documents should also be accessible for the public. This wish to satisfy public interest has been fulfilled. All documents in the colllection have been digitised and contextualised, and can be viewed from anywhere.

The business tycoon Georg Heberlein (14 Dec.1902 – 2 May 1984), from Wattenwil in Toggenburg found as a sideline to his manifold engagements– in addition to his huge military-historical library – time to search for autographs of famous military and political national leaders and was able to acquire many valuable pieces. The list of his acquisitions was kept so meticulously that it also provided the basis for a scientific inventory. The collection grew to such a significant size thanks to Georg Heberlein‘s passion for his hobby and his far-reaching international relations.


Library Am Guisanplatz Information and Documentation Services
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 50 95

Contact form

Collection d’autographes «Georg Heberlein»

La collection d’autographes « Georg Heberlein » offre des témoignages directs sur cinq siècles d’histoire et leurs principaux acteurs. De Charles le Téméraire à Ronald Reagan, diverses personnalités se révèlent par leurs manuscrits et leurs écrits intimes.

Le 1er mai 1995, les filles de Georg Heberlein ont fait don au président de la Confédération d’alors, Kaspar Villiger, des quelque 1400 autographes de la collection de leur père, à l’intention de la Bibliothèque militaire fédérale, devenue entre-temps la Bibliothèque Am Guisanplatz. Elles ont aussi émis le vœu que ces documents soient mis à la disposition du public intéressé. C’est le cas. Tous les documents ont été numérisés et situés dans leur contexte, et il est possible de les consulter à distance.

Georg Heberlein (14.12.1902-02.05.1984), entrepreneur originaire de Wattenwil dans le Toggenbourg, prenait le temps, en plus de ses nombreuses activités – et notamment l’approvisionnement de sa bibliothèque particulièrement fournie en ouvrages d’histoire militaire –,de cultiver sa passion pour les autographes de célébrités du monde militaire et politique et de faire l’acquisition de précieux documents. Il a lui-même établi un catalogue très soigné de sa collection, qui a pu servir de base à l’inventaire scientifique. C’est grâce à la passion qui l’animait et à ses relations dans de nombreux pays que Georg Heberlein a pu constituer peu à peu une collection aussi importante.


Bibliothèque Am Guisanplatz Services d’information et de documentation
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 464 50 95

Formulaire de contact


Imprimer contact