The BiG's exhibition 'The Schauenburg collection – a uniquely valuable collection of maps'

The Schauenburg collection, which has been owned by the Swiss Confederation since 1881, is the focus of a new exhibition at the Library Am Guisanplatz.

Johann Anton Herbort, 'Plan of Bern with fortification project', 1730, Scale 1:3900, 163 x 134 cm, The Schauenburg collection 39 [Image detail]
Johann Anton Herbort, 'Plan of Bern with fortification project', 1730, Scale 1:3900, 163 x 134 cm, The Schauenburg collection 39 [Image detail]

From Thursday, 09 May 2019, 5:00pm
To Friday, 28 February 2020, 4:30pm

Papiermühlestrasse 21a 3014 Bern
Fair, exhibition

The Schauenburg collection contains 68 hand-drawn maps and plans from the 17th and 18th centuries. They show terrains, fortresses, ground plans and the Mittelland, which was under Bernese rule. In 1798, the maps were stolen from Bern by the Alsatian general Alexis Balthasar Henri Antoine von Schauenburg (1748-1831). They were later returned to the Swiss Confederation in 1881, and today are kept in the State Archives of Bern. The BiG's current exhibition presents the history of this unique collection, and shows a selection of these maps in their original size.

The maps and their authors

Many of the maps were authored by military engineers. The exhibition contains works by the following cartographers: Valentin Friderich (died around 1640), Hans Conrad Gyger (1599-1674), Samuel Bodmer (1652-1724), Johann Adam Riediger (1680-1756) and Johann Anton Herbort (1702-1757).

Public tours

Five public guided tours of the Schauenburg collection will take place in the Bern State Archives over the course of the exhibition's run. Interested visitors can register online at bibliothek@gs-vbs.admin.ch up to one week before the tour date. Guided tours are free of charge; groups are limited to 20 people. The meeting point is in front of the State Archives at Falkenplatz 4, 3001 Bern.

Thursday, 16 May 2019, 5pm – 5.45pm
Thursday, 22 August 2019, 5pm – 5.45pm
Wednesday, 16 October 2019, 12.30pm – 1.15pm
Tuesday, 10 December 2019, 12.30pm – 1.15pm
Tuesday, 18 February 2020, 12.30pm – 1.15pm

 

Library Am Guisanplatz Information and Documentation Services
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 50 95

Contact form


Print contact

print preview

BiG-Ausstellung «Die Schauenburg-Sammlung. Ein Kartenbestand von einzigartigem Wert»

Die neue Ausstellung in der Bibliothek am Guisanplatz präsentiert die Geschichte der Schauenburg-Sammlung, die sich seit 1881 im Besitz der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft befindet.

Johann Anton Herbort, «Plan von Bern mit Befestigungsprojekt», 1730, Massstab 1:3900, 163 x 134 cm, Schauenburg-Sammlung 39 [Ausschnitt]
Johann Anton Herbort, «Plan von Bern mit Befestigungsprojekt», 1730, Massstab 1:3900, 163 x 134 cm, Schauenburg-Sammlung 39 [Ausschnitt]

Von Donnerstag, 09. Mai 2019, 17:00
Bis Freitag, 28. Februar 2020, 16:30

Papiermühlestrasse 21a 3014 Bern
Messe, Ausstellung

Als Schauenburg-Sammlung wird ein Konvolut von insgesamt 68 Karten und Plänen bezeichnet, das im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert entstanden ist. Die von Hand gezeichneten Karten und Pläne zeigen Geländeaufnahmen, Festungen, Grundrisse sowie das Mittelland, das Hoheitsgebiet der Bernischen Obrigkeit. 1798 wurden die Karten durch den elsässischen General Alexis Balthasar Henri Antoine von Schauenburg (1748–1831) in Bern entwendet. Seit 1881 sind sie im Besitz der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft. Sie werden heute im Staatsarchiv des Kantons Bern aufbewahrt. Die aktuelle Ausstellung präsentiert die Geschichte dieser einzigartigen Sammlung und zeigt ausgewählte Karten des Bestandes in Originalgrösse.

Die Karten und ihre Autoren

Die Urheber eines Grossteils der Karten sind Militäringenieure. In der Ausstellung werden Werke der folgenden Kartenautoren vorgestellt: Valentin Friderich (gestorben um 1640), Hans Conrad Gyger (1599–1674), Samuel Bodmer (1652–1724), Johann Adam Riediger (1680–1756) und Johann Anton Herbort (1702–1757).

Öffentliche Führungen

Während der Ausstellung werden fünf öffentliche Führungen zur Schauenburg-Sammlung im Berner Staatsarchiv angeboten. Interessierte können sich jeweils bis 1 Woche vor dem Führungstermin elektronisch anmelden über bibliothek@gs-vbs.admin.ch. Die Führungen sind kostenlos. Pro Gruppe können maximal 20 Personen teilnehmen. Der Treffpunkt ist vor dem Staatsarchiv am Falkenplatz 4, 3001 Bern.

Donnerstag, 16. Mai 2019          17:00 – 17:45
Donnerstag, 22. August 2019    17:00 – 17:45
Mittwoch, 16. Oktober 2019      12:30 – 13:15
Dienstag, 10. Dezember 2019   12:30 – 13:15
Dienstag, 18. Februar 2020       12:30 – 13:15

 

Bibliothek am Guisanplatz Informations- und Dokumentationsservices
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 50 95

E-Mail
Kontaktformular