print preview

Dr. Georg Heberlein’s collection of autographs

Dr. Georg Heberlein’s collection of autographs brings you face to face with five centuries of world history and its chief characters. Personalities from Charles the Bold to Ronald Reagan speak to you through their handwriting and intimate testimonies.

On 1 May 1995, the daughters of Georg Heberlein handed over his collection of about 1,400 autographs to the former President of the Confederation Kaspar Villiger for the previous Federal military library and present Library Am Guisanplatz. They then expressed their wish that these documents should also be accessible for the public. This wish to satisfy public interest has been fulfilled. All documents in the colllection have been digitised and contextualised, and can be viewed from anywhere.

The business tycoon Georg Heberlein (14 Dec.1902 – 2 May 1984), from Wattenwil in Toggenburg found as a sideline to his manifold engagements– in addition to his huge military-historical library – time to search for autographs of famous military and political national leaders and was able to acquire many valuable pieces. The list of his acquisitions was kept so meticulously that it also provided the basis for a scientific inventory. The collection grew to such a significant size thanks to Georg Heberlein‘s passion for his hobby and his far-reaching international relations.


Library Am Guisanplatz Information and Documentation Services
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 50 95

Contact form

Autographensammlung Dr. Georg Heberlein

Die Autographensammlung «Dr. Georg Heberlein» bringt Ihnen fünf Jahrhunderte Weltgeschichte und ihre Akteure näher. Persönlichkeiten von Karl dem Kühnen bis Ronald Reagan sprechen durch ihre Handschriften und intimen Zeugnissen.

Die Töchter von Georg Heberlein übergaben am 1. Mai 1995 dem damaligen Bundespräsidenten Kaspar Villiger die Sammlung aus rund 1400 Autographen zu Handen der ehemaligen Eidgenössischen Militärbibliothek und heutigen Bibliothek am Guisanplatz. Sie äusserten damals den Wunsch, dass die Dokumente auch der interessierten Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung stehen sollten. Diesem Wunsch wurde entsprochen: Alle Dokumente der Sammlung sind digitalisiert, kontextualisiert und sind jederzeit online zugänglich.

Georg Heberlein (14.12.1902-02.05.1984), der Grossindustrielle aus dem toggenburgischen Wattenwil, fand neben seinen vielfältigen  Engagements die Zeit – in Ergänzung zu seiner militärhistorisch ausgerichteten, sehr umfangreichen Bibliothek –, nach Autographen berühmter Militärs und Staatsmänner Ausschau zu halten und sich manch wertvolles Stück zu erwerben. Das Verzeichnis, das er zur Inventarisierung seiner Sammlung anlegte, führte er so sorgfältig, dass es auch für die wissenschaftliche Bestandesaufnahme als Grundlage diente. Georg Heberleins Leidenschaft für sein Hobby und seinen weitreichenden internationalen Beziehungen ist es zu verdanken, dass seine Sammlung im Laufe der Zeit einen so bedeutenden Umfang erreichen konnte.


Bibliothek am Guisanplatz Informations- und Dokumentationsservices
Papiermühlestrasse 21 A
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 50 95

Kontaktformular


Kontakt drucken